Senior CPP Officials Agree to Give Up Lawmaker Positions

The National Election Committee (NEC) on Monday said that a host of senior ruling party officials had resigned from their elected posts in Parliament in order to allow lawmakers lower down the party’s rostrum of candidates to be given a seat in the National Assembly. “The CPP sent us the letters of their member’s resignation after the party received the resignation letters,” said NEC Secretary-General Tep Nytha. Among the group of CPP officials who stepped aside to make way for junior lawmakers were 14 government ministers as well as CPP president Chea Sim and CPP secretary-general Say Chhum, two of the most senior figures in the ruling party hierarchy. More than half of Prime Min­ister Hun Sen’s Cabinet of 26 ministers, many of whom won seats in Parliament based on their position on the CPP’s official candidate list, also resigned their seats in the National Assembly prior to final election results being released by the NEC on Sunday. … Finance Minister Keat Chhon and Foreign Minister Hor Namhong, who are both nearly 80, are also slated to take seats in Parliament. A number of CPP progeny who were first-time candidates for Parliament were not given seats, including the sons of Deputy Prime Minister Sok An, CPP lawmaker Cheam Yeap, Supreme Court President Dith Monty and Mr. Chhum, the CPP secretary-general.

Phorn Bopha